Skip to main content

Honor's Biology

Honor's Biology
201411594557816_image.jpg image
Class Description:

The honor's biology curriculum will include scientific inquiry, cell biology, genetics, evolution and diversity of life, and ecology. This course is a college preparatory course and utilizes the following methods of study: microscopes, laboratory investigations, dissections and classroom presentations. In addition to basic biological concepts, students in Honor's Biology will be reading from Four Fish and The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.

Class Announcements

Thursday, June 8

Final Exam
Bring your finished cell advertisement to share with us and turn in.  Bring your biology book and your Henrietta Lacks books to turn in if you haven't done so already.  
And you will turn your exam study guides in for extra credit if you wish.
Hope your summer is happy and memorable!  It was a pleasure having all of you!
More +

Monday, June 5

Share advertisement on your cells.
Exam review. 
More +

Friday, June 2

Frog anatomy quiz. 
Exam review study guides. 
More +

Thursday, June 1

Begin review for exams.  Review for frog anatomy quiz. 
Create an attractive advertisement for your cells.  See handout for info.  Due Monday.  Be prepared to share your work. 
More +

Wednesday, May 31

Continue frog dissection.  Your quiz over the frog anatomy and amphibians is Friday.  More +

MAKEUP WORK (TESTS, QUIZZES, ALL ASSIGNMENTS)

See pinnacle for ANY work that you are missing.  It is due by FRIDAY, JUNE 2. NO EXCEPTIONS.  More +

Friday, May 26

Continue working on frog anatomy packet.  More +

Thursday, May 25

Go over Henrietta Lacks questions.
Begin "Investigating Frog Anatomy" packet. If you need another copy, print from link below. 

Investigating Frog Anatomy
More +

Monday, May 15

Review for test

Answers to study guide.
More +

Friday, May 12

Quiz- Henrietta Lacks Chs. 31-34
Study guide for Chapter 17 test
Test- Tuesday, May 16
More +

Tuesday, April 25

Review for test over Chapter 15 Theory of Evolution
Study Guide Answers
More +

Friday, April 21

Watch video on natural selection in humans: Sickle cell anemia and malaria.
Finish "Molecular Genetics of Color Mutations in Rock Pocket Mice".
Assign chapters 27-30 in "Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks". Due Thursday, April 27.
More +

Wednesday, April 12

Copy notes (link below) for Thursday, April 13.
Chapter 15 Evidence of Evolution notes
More +

Friday, March 17

Vidoo clip "The Way of All Flesh" about the Lacks family.
Go over questions.
Continue with 2-factor crosses. 
More +

Thursday, March 15

Sex-linked traits.  
All makeup work and extra credit for the 3rd nine weeks grading period due Monday, March 20. 
More +

Monday, March 13

Go over 2-factor crosses.  
Read chapters 6-10 in "The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks".  Answer questions.  Due Friday. 
More +

Thursday, February 23

Protein Synthesis Lab: Time to Make the Donuts More +

Wednesday, February 22

Notes on Protein Synthesis: 
Ch. 10 Section 4: Protein Synthesis
More +

Tuesday, February 21

Continue watching: Cracking the Code movie.  More +

Wednesday, February 15

Discuss the article "How people develop addiction"
Watch video on one doctor's ideas about how addictions develop. 
Addiction
More +

**Extra Credit**

Build a DNA molecule according to the specs below: up to 5 formal extra credit points.  
DNA Model Project Specs
More +

Monday, February 6

Take notes on Chapter 10 DNA, RNA, and Protein Synthesis
Chapter 10 DNA, RNA, and Protein Synthesis
More +

Friday, February 3

Using diagrams from yesterday, build a DNA molecule using K'Nex kits. Investigate how DNA replicates and be prepared to point out parts of DNA and explain DNA replication.  More +

Thursday, Feb.2

Color and label diagram of DNA.  More +

February 1

Go over the contributions of scientists to the discovery of DNA. 
Griffith's Experiment
Begin notes on Chapter 10 DNA, RNA, and Protein Synthesis
More +

Tuesday, January 31

Quiz on mitosis. 
Complete chart on various scientists' contributions to the discovery of DNA. 
More +

Monday, January 30

Review for quiz on mitosis.  More +

Thursday, January 26

Finish webquest on mitosis.  More +

Wednesday, January 24

Complete webquest about cell division. 
Visit the following websites:
Site Two
Site Three
Site Four

More +

Tuesday, January 24

Draw and label the phases of the cell life cycle and color and label these parts in each phase:
centrioles, the nucleus, centromeres, spindle fibers, and chromosomes.
More +

Monday, January 23

QoTD "Describe how cell division is controlled."
Identify characteristics and label the phases of the cell life cycle.
Label the phases on diagrams of plant and animal cells. 
More +

Thursday, January 19

Go over cell reproduction vocabulary.
H.W. Construct karyotype.  Due Monday. 
Notes: Cell Reproduction

More +

Wednesday, January 18

Begin vocabulary on Chapter 8.  Write definition and draw pictures. 
Begin going over terms. 
More +

January 10-12 Exams

More +

Monday, January 9

Finish exam review.  More +

Friday, January 6

Exam Review
Ch. 6 Photosynthesis   p. 118 (1), p. 126 (5,6,7,15) and w.s.
Ch. 7 Cellular Respiration w.s. 
More +

Thursday, Jan 5

Exam Review
Chapter 4 Cell Structure and Function
p. 71 (4), p. 76 (1,2,3,4), p. 85 (6), p. 90 (1,4)
Chapter 5 Homeostasis and Cell Transport
p. 102 (1,2,7,8), p. 106 (1,3,6), p. 108 (1b,c,5,9)
More +

Wednesday, January 4

Begin exam review:
Chapter 1 The Science of Life p. 9 (1,4,5,8,10), p. 12 (2,4), p.26 (22)
Chapter 19 Populations p. 394 (1a,b,c,3,5,8,9,11,21
More +

Tuesday, Jan 3

Finish presentations.   More +

Friday, December 14 and Monday, December 19

Work on projects.  More +

Thursday, December 15

Quiz -Cellular Respiration
Begin work on project. 
More +

Wednesday, December 14

Go over questions over cellular respiration.
Put together review puzzle on cellular respiration.
Sign up for fermented foods project. Requirements for fermented foods project.
This is due on Tuesday, December 20.
More +

Tuesday, December 13

Finish lab questions on cellular respiration. 
Study guide- cellular respiration.
Quiz- Thursday
More +

Monday, December 12

Cellular Respiration Lab.  More +

Wednesday, December 7

Complete study guide on photosynthesis. 
Check work: Chapter 6 Study Guide Answers
More +

Tuesday, December 6

Review virtual simulation labs. Identify 3 factors that affect the rate at which photosynthesis occurs.  More +

Monday, December 5

Finish online simulations.  Quiz over photosynthesis; THURSDAY, DECEMBER 8
Photosynthesis Tutorial
More +

Virtual Lab #1

Virtual Lab #1 More +

Thursday and Friday, December 1 and 2

Finish photosynthesis terms. 
Conduct simulated experiments on factors that affect photosynthesis.
Photosynthesis Virtual Labs
Complete simulations on how different colors of light affect plant growth.

How do different colors of light affect plant growth? 
More +

Wednesday, November 30

Go over movie questions. 
Begin defining terms on photosynthesis.
More +

Tuesday, November 29

Finish "The Martian" movie.  Answer questions.  More +

Monday, November 14

Finish notes on Chapter 5 Section 2
Osmosis and diffusion simulation on chromebooks. 
Osmosis Simulation

Cell Membrane: Just Passing Through
More +

Thursday and Friday, November 10 and 11

Finish notes on chapter 1 section 1. Complete chart on types of passive transport.
H.W. Osmosis and Tonicity worksheet; Due Monday
More +

Wednesday, November 9

Finish cell coloring worksheet.  More +

Monday, November 7

Begin coloring worksheet on cell membrane.  More +

Friday, November 4

Finish onion cell and diffusion lab questions.  More +

Thursday, November 3

Complete diffusion lab from yesterday.
Watch video on onion cells in salt water and fresh water and draw the results and answer the questions. 
Additionally see page 100 in your book for pictures of cells. 

Video: Onion cells in salt and fresh water.

More +

Wednesday, November 2

Observing diffusion lab. 
Observe effects of salt water and fresh water on onion cells.
Draw and color the results and answer the questions on worksheet.
See page 100 in your book to help. 

Onion cells in salt and fresh water.
More +

Tuesday, November 1

Notes: Chapter 5 Section 1 
Chapter 5 Section 1
Four Fish pgs. 29-44 Read for Friday. 
More +

Monday, October 31

Go over analogies.  More +

Friday, October 28

Test-Chapter 4 Cell Structure and Function
Compete analogies of chapter 5 terms: diffusion, simple diffusion, equilibrium, concentration gradient, and passive transport.
More +

Thursday, October 27

Go over study guide for Ch. 4 test.  More +

Monday and Tuesday, October 24 and 25

Use the microscopes in the lab to view plant and animal cells and draw and label their parts. 
**The grading period ends Friday- make sure you have everything in.
More +

Thursday, October 20

Go over parts of microscope.  Review for quiz on organelles. 
Quiz Friday- Functions of organelles. 
More +

Wednesday, October 19

Go over plant and animal cell diagrams.
Go over cell organelle functions. 
More +

Tuesday, October 18

Complete animal and plant cell diagrams.
Identify the functions of cell organelles. Relate organelle to type of cell to which it is found. 
More +

Monday, October 17

Notes Chapter 4: See link Chapter 4 Cells powerpoint More +

Thursday, October 13

Go over "Four Fish" questions.
The Life Cycle of Salmon activity in the gym 
More +

Wednesday, October 11

Go over Section 4-1 Review "The History of Cell Biology"
Draw 4 different cells and describe their function. 
"Four Fish" questions from pages 21-27 due Thursday.
More +

Tuesday, October 11

Test-Chapter 18 Populations
Complete w.s. Section 4-1 Review "History of Cell Biology"
More +

Monday, October 10

Go over population ecology graphs. 
Question of the day: Is disease considered a density-independent or density-dependent limiting factor? Why?
Video: Crash Course: Population Ecology
H.W. "Four Fish" Read pages 21-27 and answer the questions. Due Thursday. 
Test- Populations     Tomorrow October 11
More +

Friday, October 7


Complete questions on population graphs. 
More +

Thursday, October 6

Continue work with virtual population studies lab.  See link below.
Complete a graph of results and the journal questions.  Submit to me at rebecca.scott@fieldlocalschools.org or print them off and turn them in. 
More +

Wednesday, October 5

Begin virtual population lab on chromebooks. Chart data and construct graph of populations of paramecium.  Complete journal questions on population studies. Find virtual lab at link:

Virtual Lab: Population Biology
More +

Tuesday, October 4

Notes on populations. 

Populations powerpoint
More +

Monday, October 3

Complete Isle Royale moose and wolf graph. 
Answer questions based on graph information. 
More +

Wednesday, September 21

Go over "Four Fish" questions.
Continue argumentation for surviving the dust bowl.
More +

Tuesday, September 20

Go over Section 1-1 Review.
Investigate food webs and trophic levels. 
Work in groups to form argument with evidence for surviving the Dust Bowl.  
More +

Monday, September 19

Finish notes on ecology.  Complete Section 1-1 Review "The World of Biology" More +

Thursday, September 15

Webquest on ecology topics More +
Class Files / Links
Videos
Field Local Schools | 2900 Door #5, State Route 43 | Mogadore, OH 44260 | Phone: 330.673.2659 | Fax: 330.673.0270
Field Local Schools has the legal responsibility to abide by copyright law. Employees of the district shall comply with all provisions of US Copyright Law.
Field Local Schools | 2900 St Rt 43, Door #5 | Mogadore, OH 44260 | Phone: 330.673.2659 | Fax: 330.673.0270
View text-based website