logo
Biology
20141159323251_image.jpg image
Class Description:
The biology curriculum will include scientific inquiry, cell biology, genetics, evolution and diversity of life. This course is a college preparatory course and utilizes the following methods of study: microscopes, laboratory investigations, dissections and classroom presentations.
rss feed
Thursday, June 8
Hope you have the kind of summer that creates wonderful, lasting memories!   
Friday, June 2
Quiz on Frog Anatomy and Amphibians
Work on exam study guides. 
**All makeup work, makeup quizzes and makeup tests are due TODAY!
 
Thursday, June 1
Exam review study guides.  These will be completed for extra credit on either your nine weeks grade or your final exam; you choose.  They must be completely completed!!
You will receive one copy of the exam study guides.  If you need another see the link below:
Final Exam Study Guides
 
Wednesday, May 31
Finish frog dissecting lab. Your quiz over the frog anatomy and amphibians will be Friday. 
MAKEUP WORK (TESTS, QUIZZES, ALL ASSIGNMENTS)
Check pinnacle to see if you have any makeup work to complete.  It is due by FRIDAY, JUNE 2. 
NO EXCEPTIONS!
 
Thursday and Friday, May 25 and 26
Continue working on frog anatomy packet.  Complete pre-lab, diagrams (we will do together), amphibian notes and information about the frog anatomy from the lab. 
**You will not be able to dissect if the packet is not completed. 
 
Wednesday, May 24
Go over Section 14-2 Review.
Begin "Investigating Frog Anatomy" packet.  You will receive one copy of this packet.  If you need another one, see link:
Investigating Frog Anatomy packet
 
Tuesday, May 23
Take notes on Chapter 14 Section 1 (See link below)
H.W. Section 14-2 Review

Notes Chapter 14, Section 1
 
Monday, May 15
Review for test. 
Friday, May 12
Go over study guide for chapter 17 test.

Answers to chapter 17 study guide
 
Weeks of May 1 and May 8
Test on Chapter 17 for 5th and 8th periods: TUESDAY, MAY 16
Test on Chapter 17 for 1st period: WEDNESDAY, MAY 17
Classification: See notes for section 1 below:

Chapter 17 Classification Notes


 
Wednesday, April 25
Test-Chapter 15
Begin classification. 
 
Tuesday, April 25
Review for test.  
Monday, April 24
"Evidence of Evolution" packet is due.   We will go it.
Test-Chapter 15 WEDNESDAY, APRIL 26
 
Thursday and Friday, April 20 and 21
Complete the packet on evidence of evolution.  If you need another packet print from the link below. 
Evidence of Evolution Packet
 
Wednesday, April 12
Finish observations of Darwin's Voyage.  Find article below:
Darwin's Journal
 
Extra Credit Research an inherited genetic condition.
Write a 2-page report on a genetic condition.  Include information about the symptoms, risk factors, incidence (how common is it) and treatment (if any).  Answer, how is it inherited?  Is it dominant or recessive, etc. Up to 5 formal points.  
Extra Credit- A 3-factor cross
Complete a 3-factor cross on a posterboard.  Color code your Punnett Square by phenotype and draw one organism with traits that result from your cross. Up to 5 formal points.
I have handouts with the requirements and examples hanging in my room.  Please see me if you have any questions.   
Due by March 22.  (no exceptions)
 
**Extra Credit: The Nobel Prize"
Write a 1-2 page paper about the Nobel Prize.  Answer questions such as, how was it started? by whom? what is the "prize"? Include information about a past Prize winner (except for Watson and Crick) and describe the achievement that led them to win the Nobel Prize.  (up to 3 formal points) 
Monday, March 20
Go over sex-linked trait problems. 
Calico cat coloration problems. 
 
Friday, March 17
2-factor cross practice
Sex-linked traits; what's going on with that Y chromosome?
All makeup work and extra credit is due on Wednesday, March 22. No exceptions!
 
Monday, March 13
Continue work on 2-factor crosses.  
Friday, March 10
Punnett Squares- single factor crosses; go over work from yesterday. Begin 2-factor crosses.  
Thursday, March 9
Complete single-factor cross worksheet.  
Wednesday, March 8
Complete notes on Chapter 9, Section 1.  Begin Punnett Squares with single-factor crosses.  
Thursday, March 2
Review for protein synthesis quiz.  Go over questions from page 210, go over protein synthesis worksheet, go over Section 10-4 Review. 
Quiz Friday. 
 
Wednesday, March 1
Go over protein synthesis with video animation. Complete Section 10-4 Review on protein synthesis. Discuss course registration for next year. Quiz Friday.  
Tuesday, February 28
Complete Protein Synthesis worksheet; filling in Strand 2 of DNA and creating mRNA and tRNA and look up amino acids. 
Quiz on Protein Synthesis Friday.
 
Monday, February 27
Use the following websites to view the process of protein synthesis. 
Protein Synthesis Simulation
 1
Protein Synthesis Simulation 2

 
Friday, February 24
Protein Synthesis Lab: Making the Donuts
8th period: Go over questions from yesterday. 
 
Thursday, February 23
Make up quizzes.
Complete questions from book; pg. 210 (1,2,2,3,5,6,7,9,11) and pg. 212 (#27)
Watch video: Amoeba Sisters: Protein Synthesis
 
Wednesday, February 22
Makeup quiz- Thursday February 23
Notes:  See link  Protein Synthesis
Video: Amoeba Sisters: Protein Synthesis
 
Wednesday, February 15
Quiz- Chapter 10
Begin protein synthesis. 
 
Tuesday, February 14
Review for quiz.  See link: Study Guide Chapter 10 
Monday, February 13
Lab: DNA Extraction
Quiz on scientists who discovered the structure of DNA, the structure of DNA, and DNA replication Wednesday. 
 
Friday, February 10
Go over notes.  Answer questions on DNA replication.  
**Extra Credit: Build a DNA molecule**
Build a DNA molecule based on the requirements below: (up to 5 formal points)
DNA Model Project Specs :)
 
**Extra Credit: Avocados?"
Grow an avocado tree!  Do some exploring!  Find out how to grow an avocado tree.  Once successful, bring it in to show us!  Be prepared to tell us what you learned about avocados.
up to 5 formal points
 
Thursday, February 9
Finish copying notes from Sections 1 and 2 Chapter 10.  Visit link on this site.
Complete questions on DNA Replication (for homework if not completed in class).
Chapter 10 Sections 3 and 4



 
Wednesday, February 8
Build DNA molecules with K'nex kits.
Be able to name the following in your model: sugars, phosphates, nitrogen bases (A,C,T,G), and hydrogen bonds. 
Investigate how DNA replicates.  Be prepared to explain where the DNA molecule comes apart. 
 
Tuesday, February 7
Color and label the parts of a DNA molecule.  Answer questions about the structure of DNA.  
Monday, February 6
Finish movie on DNA.  Go over questions. 
Begin notes on Chapter 10.
Ch. 10 DNA, RNA, and Protein Synthesis Sections 1 and 2
 
Friday, Feb. 3
Watch video: DNA: The Secret of Life and answer questions. 
DNA: The Secret of Life
 
Thursday, Feb. 2
Go over scientists' work from yesterday.  
Wednesday, Feb. 1
Take quiz on mitosis.
Complete chart on various scientists' contributions to the discovery of DNA. 
 
Tuesday, January 31
Notes and review on mitosis. 
Quiz- Wednesday
 
Monday, January 30
Draw and label the phases of the cell life cycle and color and label these parts in each phase:
centrioles, the nucleus, centromeres, spindle fibers, and chromosomes.
H.W. "The Cell  Cycle Worksheet"  Due Tuesday. 
 
Friday, January 27
Finish mitosis webquest. 
Thursday, January 26
Mitosis Internet Assignment:  Go to each site below to investigate cell division. 
Site Two
Site Three
Site Four
 
Wednesday, January 25
QoTD: "What is the cell cycle?"
Label the cell life cycle.  List characteristics of each phase.
Label phases on worksheet. 
 
Tuesday, January 24
Answer questions about karyotype.  Turn everything in.
Go over Section 1 Review questions from Friday. 
 
Monday, January 23
Construct karyotype with seat partner. 
Friday, January 20
Complete Section 1 Review 1-8 questions on page 153 in the book.  Turn in.  
Thursday, January 19
Go over vocabulary from yesterday.  
See notes for definitions and pictures: Cell Reproduction notes 
Complete "Karyotype B" questions for homework.
 
Wednesday, January 18
Review classroom rules.
Begin vocabulary from Chapter 8 on Cell Reproduction.
Begin going over vocabulary; provide definition and picture for each term. 
 
Monday, January 9
Go over photosynthesis and cellular respiration review.  Wrap up exam review.  
Friday, January 6
Exam Review
Chapter 5 Homeostasis and Cell Transport
p. 102 (1,2,7,8), p. 106 (1,3,6), p. 108 (1b,c,5,9)

H.W. Complete the review on photosynthesis and cellular respiration. 
 
Thursday, Jan 5
Exam Review
Chapter 4 Cell Structure and Function
p. 71 (4), p. 76 (1-4), p. 85 (6), p. 90 (1,4)
 
Wednesday, January 4
Continue exam review. 
Chapter 19 Populations  p. 304 (1a,b,c, 3, 5, 8, 9, 11, 21)
 
Tuesday, Jan 3
Begin Exam Review
We covered these chapters during the first semester in biology; 
Chapter 1 The Science of Life
Chapter 19 Populations
Chapter 4 Cell Structure and Function
Chapter 5 Homeostasis and Cell Transport
Chapter 6 Photosynthesis
Chapter 7 Cellular Respiration
____________________________

Exam Review Chapter 1: pg. 9 (1,4,5,8,19) pg. 12 (2,4) pg. 26 (22)
Points will be given for in class participation in completing each chapter's review. 
 
Friday, December 16 and Monday, December 19
Research/work on fermented foods project.  
Thursday, December 15
Quiz-Cellular Respiration
Begin research for your choosen fermented food. 
 
Wednesday, December 14
Go over questions over cellular respiration. 
Put together review puzzle on cellular respiration. 
Sign up for fermented foods project.  Requirements for fermented foods project.
This is due on Tuesday, December 20. 

 
Tuesday, December 13
Questions on cellular respiration; use the book and your notes.  
Monday, December 12
Lab on cellular respiration. 
Quiz on cellular respiration; Thursday, December 15.
 
Wednesday, December 7
Complete study guide for quiz over photosynthesis. 
Check work:  Chapter 6 Study Guide Answers
 
Tuesday, December 6
Go over photosynthesis simulations.  Identify the 3 factors that affect the rate of photosynthesis. 
Monday, December 5
Virtual Lab #2
Continue with online simulations.  Quiz over photosynthesis: THURSDAY, DECEMBER 8
Photosynthesis Tutorial

 
Thursday and Friday, December 1 and 2
View spectrum of light through prism.
Do virtual simulations on variables that affect the rate at which photosynthesis occurs.  Complete questions to turn in. 
Use link: 
Photosynthesis: Virtual Simulation 
 
Wednesday, November 30
Vocabulary terms from Chapter 6 on photosynthesis.
 
Tuesday, November 29
Finish the movie, "The Martian".
Complete questions. 
 
Tuesday, November 22 and Wednesday, Nov. 23
Watch the movie, "The Martian".
Answer questions about life on Mars. 
Due Wednesday November 23. 
 
Monday, November 21
Go over notes on Photosynthesis from Friday.
Complete foldable on photosynthesis and color for 10 points EXTRA CREDIT. 
Due Tuesday, November 22. 
 
Friday, November 18
Test-Chapter 5
Begin notes on photosynthesis
 
Wednesday, November 16
Study Guide Chapter 5
Test- Friday, November 18
 
Tuesday, November 15
Finish questions about simulations from yesterday. 
Monday, November 14
Turn in homework.
Finish notes from Chapter 5 Section 2
Simulation on osmosis and diffusion with chromebooks. 
Osmosis Simulation
Cell Membrane: Just Passing Through



 
Thursday, November 10 and Friday, November 11
Finish notes on Chapter 5 Section 1 (from my website) and complete chart on forms of passive transport. H.W. Osmosis and Tonicity: Due Monday 
Wednesday, November 9
Finish cell coloring worksheet. 
THIS PAPER IS DUE BY FRIDAY!
 
Monday, November 7
Begin "Cell Membrane Coloring Worksheet" 
Friday, November 4
Finish diffusion lab and onion cell labs and turn in.
Both of these are formal points!
 
Thursday, November 3
Lab on diffusion and osmosis with dialysis tubing. 
Also, observe onion cells in fresh and salt water and answer the questions provided. Draw and color the results as well. 

Onion cells in fresh and salt water.
 
Wednesday, November 2
Go  over questions from yesterday.
Complete notes from Chapter 5, Section 1. 

Chapter 5 Section 1 Passive Transport
 
Tuesday, November 1
Test- Chapter 4
Complete questions after test on Ch. 5 Homeostasis and Cell Transport
 
Monday, October 31
Review for Chapter 4 test.  
Friday, October 28
Complete study guide for chapter 4.   
Thursday, October 27
Review parts of the microscope.  Go over plant and animal cell labs. 
Videos: Crash Course "Plant Cells" and Crash Course "Animal Cells"
 
Wednesday, October 26
Finish plant and animal cell labs.  Turn in.  These are FORMAL points. 
Create Venn diagrams of plant and animal cells and prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells. 
Test-Chapter 4 Tuesday, November 1
 
Monday and Tuesday, October 24 and 25
Work in the lab using microscopes to view plant and animal cells and draw and label cells.
**The grading period ends Friday.  Make sure that you do not have quizzes/tests to makeup or assignments to be completed. 
 
Friday, October 21
Go over parts of the microscope.
Review functions of cell organelles. 
Quiz on organelle functions Monday, October 24, 
 
Thursday, October 20
Label parts of the microscope and write the function of each part.  
Wednesday, October 19
Go over animal and plant diagram labels.
Write function of organelles and identify the cell type to which they belong. See link:

Cell Organelles and their Function
 
Tuesday, October 18
Question of the Day, "Summarize the differences between prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells."
Notes on chapter 4; Cells. 

Chapter 4 Cells powerpoint
 
Monday, October 17
Finish cell diagrams to turn in.  
Friday, October 14
Make plant and animal cell diagram study tool.
Color for extra credit. 
 
Thursday, October 13
Create labeled diagrams of a plant and animal cell. 
Color both cells NEATLY for extra credit. 
 
Wednesday, October 12
Go over Section 4-1 Review "History of Cell Biology"
Draw 4 types of cells.  Relate the structure of the cells to their function.
 
Tuesday, October 11
Test-Chapter 19 Population
Complete w.s. "Section 4-1 Review: History of Cell Biology"
 
Monday, October 10
Go over population graph ecology worksheet. 
Test- Populations   Tomorrow
 
Friday, October 7
Graph populations of deer after each round of activity. Complete graphs on predator/prey populations, survivorship curves, and exponential growth vs. logistic growth.  
Thursday, October 6
Outdoor activity on deer populations and limiting factors such as food, shelter,and water.
Results will be graphed. 
 
Wednesday, October 5
"Interpreting Ecological Data" worksheet.
Questions based on various graphs including logistics growth curve, age structure and measuring populations. 
Test- moved to Tuesday!
 
Tuesday, October 4
Complete population notes. 

Populations Notes
Test-Populations  Friday, October 7
 
Monday, October 3
Complete moose/wolf graphs.  Answer questions about graph data. 
Friday, September 30
Graph populations of moose, wolves, and fir trees.   
Thursday, September 29
Go over vocabulary from page 381 and questions from page 384.  
Wednesday, September 28
Watch video clip on Isle Royale wolf and moose populations.  Read passage about these population studies and answer the questions.
Vocabulary from Monday and questions from Tuesday due tomorrow (Thursday).
 
Tuesday, September 27
Answer questions from the book; page 384 (1-6,8). Write answers in notes with vocabulary definitions from yesterday.  
Monday, September 26
Test
Define 8 vocabulary terms from pg. 381, chapter 18 in the book.  
 
Friday, September 23
Review for test over characteristics of life (Ch. 1) and ecology (Ch. 18).
Test-Monday, September 26
 
Thursday, September 22
Go over Section 1-1 Review "The World of Biology"
Wrap up argumentation and turn in.
 
Wednesday, September 21
Continue working on argument for surviving the Great Depression.
Section 1-1 Review "The World of Biology" due tomorrow. (Thursday, September 22)
 
Tuesday and Wednesday, September 20, 21
Work in groups to discuss surviving the Dust Bowl; an investigation of humans in the food web. 
Support your argument with evidence from the data provided. (Formal points.) 
 
Monday, September 19
Finish notes on consumers and trophic levels.
Begin w.s. Section Review 1-1 "The World of Biology".  
 
Friday, September 16
Describe an example of interdependence from a video on food webs.  
Thursday, September 15
Went over homework assignment from Tuesday.
Notes on ecology; see link below. 

Notes on Ecology

 
Field Local Schools | 2900 Door #5, State Route 43 | Mogadore, OH 44260 | Phone: 330.673.2659 | Fax: 330.673.0270
Field Local Schools has the legal responsibility to abide by copyright law. Employees of the district shall comply with all provisions of US Copyright Law.
Field Local Schools | 2900 Door #5, State Route 43 | Mogadore, OH 44260 | Phone: 330.673.2659 | Fax: 330.673.0270
View text-based website