logo
Anatomy and Physiology
Anatomy and Physiology
Anatomy and Physiology
Class Description:

During the course of the year in Anatomy and Physiology we will cover the systems of the human body. In order to investigate the workings of structures within each system, we will look at preserved specimens and carry out various dissections. 

rss feed
Thursday, June 8
Seniors, best wishes for the life for which you've always dreamed.  Work hard to be the best you you can be!
Everyone, it was a pleasure having all of you this year!
 
Tuesday, May 16
Quiz- The Immune System
Begin Pig Dissection Pre-lab with questions about mammals.  
Color all structures that you label in your diagram. 
EVERYONE will turn both parts in.

 
Wednesday, April 19
Quiz tomorrow on Chapter 50 Section 2 The Endocrine System
Notes:
The Endocrine System
 
Friday, March 10
The Structure and Function of the Ear video
Cateracts and Hearing Devices (cochlear implants vs. hearing aids)
How Ears Work: An Introduction video
 
Thursday, March 9
Research the devices; hearing aids and cochlear implants and record information about cateracts. 
Wednesday, March 8
Sheep Eye Dissection Lab 
Tuesday, March 7
Virtual sheep eye dissection lab; label the parts of the eye and identify their functions.  
Thursday, February 23
Dissect a sheep brain.  Label the structures and identify their functions.  
Wednesday, February 22
Continue watching Concussion; a movie about the discovery of CTE.  
Tuesday, February 21
Watch the movie; Concussion
How does Dr. Bennett Omalu come to describe CTE?
 
Wednesday, February 15
Discuss the article "How people develop addiction"
Watch video on one doctor's ideas about how addictions develop.
Addiction
 
Tuesday, February 14
Go over Section 49-1 Review 
Monday, February 13
Section 49-1 Review "Neurons and Nerve Impulses"
Read article "How people develop addiction"
    Identify factors that contribute to addiction and 
    Identify 2 pieces of information that surprise/amaze/interest you or otherwise gets your attention!
 
Thursday and Friday, February 9 and 10
Study the structure of a synapse and structures (vesicles, neurotransmitters) involved in an action potential.  
Wednesday, February 8
Research the work of a neurotransmitter such as dopamine, histamine, acetylcholine etc.  Identify the effect of that neurotransmitter on our system.
If you could formulate a neurotransmitter, what would it do?
 
Monday, February 6
Research topics related to the brain and the nervous system. 
Go to the website:  www.scilinks.org and answer on your paper. 
 
February 1
Are you "right-brained" or "left-brained"? Can we really tell?  Does it mean anything?
Watch this very interesting video on right/left brain functioning!
Right Brain vs. Left Brain
 
Tuesday, January 31
Quiz on the urinary system.
Color and label the lobes of the brain and define nervous system terms.  Label parts of a nerve cell. 
 
Monday, January 30
Review for urinary system quiz.
Quiz-Tuesday
 
Friday, January 26
Go over Section 48-3 Review "Urinary System"
Video: Urinary Tract Infections
 
Thursday, January 26
Watch the video to observe the process of kidney dialysis at home. 
Home Dialysis
B
egin Section 48-3 Review "The Urinary System". Due Friday. 
 
Wednesday, January 25
Go over functions of each part of the renal tubule. 
Watch video on kidney stones. 
How Kidney Stones Form
 
Tuesday, January 23
Color and label the parts of the nephron.  Draw arrows to show the direction of movement of materials during filtration, reabsorption, and secretion. 
Finish identifying functions of various parts of the nephron. 
 
Thursday, Jan. 18
Go over notes from the urinary system.  Label urinary system structures.  
Wednesday, January 18
Begin notes on the excretory system.  
Go over midterm exam. 
 
Tuesday, December 13
Questions on cellular respiration; use your notes and the book.  
Monday, December 12
Lab on cellular respiration.
Quiz on cellular respiration; Thursday, December 15.
 
Thursday, December 8
Jeopardy Review Game: The Circulatory System

Jeopardy Review Game
 
Tuesday, December 6
Go over notes from pg. 936. Discuss risk groups for high blood pressure.   Identify actions of the heart that produces the systolic and dystolic numbers in blood pressure readings.  
Monday, December 5
Finish colored heart drawing from lab.  Complete notes on the circulatory system and the lymphatic system (p. 936).  Quiz over the circulatory system, FRIDAY, DECEMBER 9.  
Friday, December 2
Sheep heart dissection.  
Thursday, December 1
Trace path of blood flow through the heart.  Use models of the heart to name all structures in our diagram.  Listen to heartbeat with stethoscope.  
Wednesday, November 30
Go over notes.
Label as many parts of the heart that you remember from yesterday.
Trace the flow of blood through the heart including all structures from our diagram.   See link "blood flow through the heart" in the column at the right. 
 
Tuesday, November 29
Complete notes on the circulatory system; pg. 933 & 935
Label chambers, valves, and vessels of the heart. 
 
Thursday, November 17
Go over Section 46-3 Review.  Complete  notes on Rh factors in blood.  
Wednesday, November 16
Finish activity with blood typing from yesterday.
Begin Section 46-2 Review "Blood".  Keep until Thursday. 
 
Tuesday, November 15
Virtual Blood Typing Simulation and The Blood Typing Game
Go to link: Blood Typing Simulation
 
Monday, November 14
Finish questions from blood typing lab.  Turn in.  
Friday, November 11
Discuss Punnett Square results on blood types.
Begin blood typing lab. 
 
Thursday, November 10
Go over "Blood" notes from yesterday.
Complete chart on blood types.
Set up Punnett Squares for determining probable blood types in offspring. 
 
Wednesday, November 9
Notes on blood; pg. 941.
Video on vampire bat. 
 
Monday, November 7
Research topic on blood donation.  
Wednesday, November 2
Go over worksheets. 
Take respiratory system quiz. 
 
Tuesday, November 1

Go over conditions of the respiratory system. 
worksheets; Active Reading and Directed Reading
 
Monday, October 31
Go over Section Review
*Quiz over the respiratory system on Wednesday
 
Friday, October 28

Section 46-3 Review "The Respiratory System"
Ex. Cr. Crossword- Respiratory System
 
Thursday, October 27
Article: "Everest/First Ascents: Altitude Danger Begins in Pheriche" about the impact of high altitudes on the respiratory system.  Answer questions.  
Wednesday, October 26
Build lung model in order to explain how the diaphragm works to allow us to inhale and exhale. Determine lung capacity by breathing into lung volume bag.  
Tuesday, October 25
Label parts of respiratory system.  Use chromebooks to research respiratory illnesses.  
Monday, October 24
Calculate breathing rate.
Notes on the respiratory system. 
 
Friday, October 21
Quiz- The Integumentary System 
Thursday, October 20
Review for quiz. 
Complete questions pg. 928 (#'s 4,5,21-25, 29, 30) and pg. 929 (#5). 
 
Tuesday, October 18
Section 45-4 Review "The Integumentary System"
Finish analysis questions from activity yesterday.
Quiz- The Integumentary System  Friday, October 21
 
Monday, October 17
"Distribution of Touch Receptors" activity
Investigate the sensitivity of various regions of the body.
 
Thursday, October 13
Complete chart on skin conditions; symptoms, signs, treatment and causes of each.
See powerpoint: Skin Conditions
 
Wednesday, October 12
Notes on the Integumentary System
Label integument diagram
 
Tuesday, October 11
Quiz on the muscular system.  
Monday, October 10
Go over Section 45-3 Review "Muscular System"
Quiz- The Muscular System   Tomorrow
 
Friday, October 7
Go over ALS questions and watch video on ALS.
Complete Section 45-3 Review for Monday. 
Quiz- The Muscular System Tuesday, October 11
 
Thursday, October 6
Graph muscle fatigue trials from yesterday. 
Complete Section 45-3 Review Muscular System. 
 
Wednesday, October 5
No Pain, No Gain Lab; Investigate the effects of muscle fatigue on reaction time and fine motor skills.  
Tuesday, October 4
Go over muscular system notes.
Video on muscular contraction. See link. Muscular contraction video
Research ALS. 
 
Monday, October 3
Finish muscle models.
Complete notes for muscular system. 
 
Friday, September 30
Go over Section 3 Review.
Build model of muscle tissue; be able to identify the actin, myosin, myofibril, and muscle fiber components in your model. 
 
Thursday, September 29
Label diagram of muscle tissue.  Identify characteristics of 3 types of muscle tissue in chart.  
Wednesday, September 28
Go over notes on the muscular system. Review muscle names in the human body.  
Tuesday, September 27
Answer Section 3 Review questions from page 922.  
Monday, September 26
Complete notes on muscular system; pg. 917. 
Friday, September 23
Quiz-The Skeletal System
Label diagram of muscles in the human body.
 
Thursday, September 22
Review for quiz.  Practice diagram of skeleton. Complete puzzle of vocabulary terms.  
Wednesday, September 21
Conclude forensics evidence on skeletal remains.
Complete Section 45-2 Review "Skeletal System"; Due tomorrow. 
Quiz- Skeletal System Monday, September 26
 
Tuesday, September 20
Investigate skeletal remains to learn about the person to whom they belonged.  
Monday, September 19
Compare types of skeletal joints and rate according to range of motion of each joint.  
Friday, September 16
Complete notes on bone development. Observe compact and spongy bone. Identify periosteum and yellow marrow in pig femur.  
Thursday, September 14
Use microscopes in the lab to draw and label the structures of compact bone; Haversion canals, lamella, and osteocytes.  Compare to decalcified bone.  
Links
Virtual Heart Dissection
Use the link above to conduct an online dissection. 
Virtual Protist Lab
Use the virtual lab to investigate the huge diversity of the Protist Kingdom.
Dangers of the Flu Virus
How serious can the flu virus be?
The origin and effects of West Nile Virus
How did the West Nile Virus get to the United States?
Video clip about bacterial resistance
Watch the video to answer the questions concerning the evolution of bacteria and antibiotic resistance.
Type II Diabetes
What is happening with glucose levels in the blood when a person develops Type II diabetes?
The Endocrine System
This video provides an overview of the endocrine system and the function of 10 glands in the endocrine system.
Type I Diabetes
What is Type I diabetes? Watch the video to find out.
How the Eye Works
Watch to learn how the eye works.
The Structure and Function of the Ear
This video shows the structure of the ear in detail and how vibrations are converted into electrical impulses that are translated to sound in our brain.
Cow Eye Dissection
Follow the steps of dissecting a cow eye and learn about various structures and functions of the eye.
How the Nervous System Works
A general video describing the structure of the nervous system and how it works.
The Immune Response
This animation shows how the immune response occurs in us after pathogens have gotten into our body.
Blood cells
The flow of blood through the heart
Watch the video in order to understand how blood flows in the body, heart and lungs.
The video above describes Type I diabetes on a cellular level. 
Watch the video above to learn about type 2 diabetes. 
Class Files
Field Local Schools | 2900 Door #5, State Route 43 | Mogadore, OH 44260 | Phone: 330.673.2659 | Fax: 330.673.0270
Field Local Schools has the legal responsibility to abide by copyright law. Employees of the district shall comply with all provisions of US Copyright Law.
Field Local Schools | 2900 Door #5, State Route 43 | Mogadore, OH 44260 | Phone: 330.673.2659 | Fax: 330.673.0270
View text-based website